The 21st Century Leader: The Leadership of Friends #UsGuys #UsBlogs

Remember #UsGuys Twitter friends? Their blog challenges on an assigned topic #UsBlogs are now a weekly adventure. I’m all for it! It’s a chance to share your blog with friends and stretch your blogging abilities tackling topics you might not on your own.

This week’s topic is: 21st Century Leaders. As I researched the topic, one quote I found really hit me. Alan Keith of Genentech states, “Leadership is ultimately about creating a way for people to contribute to making something extraordinary happen.” This is an idea whose time has come! A true 21st Century leader will draw people together and help them contribute towards making something totally awesome happen!

My very favorite quote also came to mind: “Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”  Albert Camus 

Gentle leadership. The leadership of friends will go a long way towards “making something extraordinary happen!” Friends have always been leaders, now leaders must be friends! The best friends in any group with set the pace, the trends, the tone of the group. These two friends met on social media.
Now leaders must be friends first…due to Social Media and the nature of people. It has always been the best way to lead and now that people are so informed, they demand the best! “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”  C.S. Lewis = Connection!

This style of friendship leadership is apparent right now in the #UsGuys tribe on Twitter. One of the leaders I know the best is @Josepf. I think he is a great example of a 21st Century Leader. He is a friend to all and leads with a smile. He is also inspiring, brilliant, good at bringing people together around great ideas, collaborative, nurturing and funny. These are vital qualities for a good leader in the 21st Century and a true friend.

The 21st Century leader must connect first. They must build a friendship of some kind with the people they may come along side to lead. They then help people get together to bring into being their plans and ideas. Doing so they bring out the very best in people. They nurture and collaborate rather than being authoritative and dictatorial…in short they are a friend who leads gently. Do you want to be a leader or a friend? Be a true friend, leadership may follow. #UsGuys #UsBlogs

 

6 thoughts on “The 21st Century Leader: The Leadership of Friends #UsGuys #UsBlogs

  1. Love it! I agree @josepf has been very supportive and connective since we met. Long Funny story how we met. (sounds like I need to write that post).You use of quote by CS Lewis was perfect. Really resonated in my heart.Thanks

  2. I LOVE the Camus quote, and your phrase "gentle leadership." AND, I have the Lewis quote written in my soul. "I thought I was the only one" =). I think those two men are perfect examples of leadership that we can model in the 21st century–perhaps we have an embodiment of both in @josepf!Thanks for your post!

  3. Thanks so much Michele and M + V! Your comments really touched me. I would like to know both of you better. I agree that @josepf is perhaps the embodiment of Camus and Lewis but hadn't though of it before. Thank you!

  4. Great post. You found some great quotes and created a new one:"A true 21st Century leader will draw people together and help them contribute towards making something totally awesome happen!" -Libby Baker Sweiger

  5. Favorite quote, "The 21st Century leader must connect first."So true. Gone are the days when folks want to blind followers, and thus those in charge can't just be the order barkers.They must connect, and gain empathy, while getting folks on board with the plan.Cheers to a good read on the 21st Century Leader.

Leave a Reply

