I Just Had The Most Spectacular Day!

Do you ever have a day that overwhelms you? Sometimes there are hard days that are overwhelming because we’re anxious or stressed. How often are you just overwhelmed by LOVE? The love of your God, the love of dear Twitter friends who just want to show you how they feel about you, the love of precious family and friends at home? Well, I just had one of those days. Hence the picture of the waterfall which represents the outpouring of love I felt today.

It all started Monday evening. I had been reading my friend @997dave Reynold’s first ever blog post. It was really, really good. I tweeted it and thanked him for a great post, the usual stuff you do for a friend. Only he and I didn’t know each other that well, yet. We are best buddies now. We’re fellow #UsGuys, the astonishingly wonderful Twitter tribe or family I call it…Visit them any time 24/7 if you want to laugh, be inspired, learn, or just get involved in a great conversation. Just type in #UsGuys on your Tweet Deck or whatever you use and follow their stream. Hop in and comment, the water’s fine. Just tell them @libbytalks sent you.

So Dave and I were getting to be friends. We had a wonderful exchange, about his blog please click here to read it, his life in BC, Vancouver Island, we Skyped, I followed him on a new social media platform, we shot the breeze. I say this casually, but it was quite intense. God was blessing our new friendship for sure. So I mentioned, not casually, while we were Skyping that I had bi-polar disorder. He was kind of amazed because well, it’s not obvious that I battle this every day. I have learned so much and been so fortunate with meds, good doctors, a God who loves me, and a husband who can’t be beat by anything. So I lead a normal life. I live and work and worship my Lord and chat with friends and love my family. Sometimes it can intrude, but not often anymore at my age. I seem to have hit a very stable phase of this thing and I’m riding the wave. Thanking God all the way. I mentioned to Dave I had written about this a while back and Skyped him the link.

With that it was getting late in my time zone and we called it a night. Then came today, or rather Thursday, because it is now in the wee hours of Friday and I’m writing this down so I can get to sleep. Dave left me a direct message on Twitter asking if he could RT my story. At first I hesitated. There are pros and cons to letting this type of information be tweeted around. Especially since I’m up for a great job right now. But, on second thought, think of all the people who can be helped to know that I struggle this each day, yet I emerge victorious! This is a true story with a happy ending, very powerful and helpful for those who struggle with this disorder or one like it — or live with someone who does — so, I said sure.

The next thing I knew, the most beautiful poem had been written by @Josepf Haslam, chief curator and poet in residence at #UsGuys. It was so beautiful, I cried tears of joy upon reading it and it linked to the post I did in February in which I talked for the first time in the #UsGuys or Twitter for that matter, frankly and openly, as @libbytalks about being bi-polar. Like I’m doing now.

I will continue to be open. Yes I have bi-polar disorder, and no that is not who I am. It’s just something I have, that I deal with daily like diabetes. I keep myself balanced doing all the right things and getting plenty of all of the good things that keep us all healthy — and I THRIVE. Thrive to be the person I have been put here to be. The creature God has created. I am not disabled, handicapped or living half a life. Thankfully, I’m living a whole, exciting, daring, lively and yet peaceful, wonderful life! Thanks to my husband, my friends, my Lord and my whole family here and on Twitter and Facebook, a good doctor and the religious taking of two meds that correct the misfiring that would otherwise be going on in my brain and I live well!

But back to this most wonderful poem. I wantd you to see it and follow the links if you like to my first post. And please come back with your friends and questions. I’m here to answer them if I can. I’m here to help where I can. Thanks dear friends and fellow humans, especially ALL #UsGuys, the best support system on Twitter! Thank you dear @997dave, @Josepf, Deep @xdeepS, all who commented: @Milaspage, @ty_sullivan, @CinziaRolling, so many of you! I love you all!

For those who missed it, please click below to read this lovely, loving poem by Josepf Haslam:

#usguys #poem on #leadfromwithin about @LibbyTalks Heart
Poetry

9 thoughts on “I Just Had The Most Spectacular Day!

  1. Libby… this is a wonderful story. I have gotten to know Dave some and he seems to be a very good egg. :) Hoping to get to know more about you. But this has been a great start. And no, I haven't read Josepf's poem, which I will do after this. Overall, it is a fine line in deciding to make this public, for several reasons, one of which you mentioned. But I call this transparency… and I love this story. And that one has to be strong and confident in order to tell it. ps.. yes, this #UsGuys group has many great people and I am glad Lewis Poretz got me involved in the group. I know have bags under my eyes, trying to be active in the stream. Thanks for sharing this. Jeff

  2. Libby! Libby! Libby! I have always lead a wear my world on sleeves mentality. Does it leave me open and vulnerable? Yes. Does it make me seem brave and authentic? Yes. Does it drive my wife insane with me putting myself out there too much? Heck Yes! LOL.But my feelings are that of, if you have a uniqueness or something others can learn from or help guide them to acceptance then put it out there.You lady are brave. You are amazing. You are someone I look at say, "she get's it". You are blessed and we are blessed more so for having someone like you to communicate and share with.I'll just say this. Thanks. Thanks for being born and enriching the lives of your friends in both the Social Media world and in your day to day real life.Blessings my friend :-)

  3. Jeff and Ty…Your words bless my heart and make my day. Today is going to be another great one! Ty I love your expression: a wear my world on sleeves mentality. That is the way I have always lived too! It's the only way I can live. I had a doctor for many years who was very good but wrong about one thing, keeping this a secret. How can your life matter? How can you help others if you hide the things that you struggle with? So, thank you for your support! Love to you both on this beautiful Friday and thank you for being my friends…I look forward to getting to know you both better!!!! And Jeff, yes bags under the eyes are the mark of a true #UsGuy! :)

  4. So many wonderful serendipitous moments we can find ourselves in when we're willing to receive. I loved your post and the amazing way that you gave yourself over to developing your new relationship with Dave – I have certainly found the same magic as I wander through my days within #usguys and social media as a whole…

  5. Sam, thank you for your wonderful comment. Getting to know Dave has been really life changing for me. He is so honest and funny and encouraging. But aren't all of you wonderful #UsGuys? I can't imagine my life with out you all and am glad I don't have to! Have a wonderful day! Libby

  6. Libby my friend,It is I that is truly blessed to have been part of and shared in your "Most Spectacular Day". I think you and I and the other like minded #UsGuys should conspire to ensure more of those spectacular days for everyone.Call me a dreamer….bah…I just watched it happen.Deepest Respect and Love from Rickie and I

  7. Dave!Dear friend! And Rickie too! Thank you for the wonderful comment, and most of all your support and caring. I'm sure we can help make it happen on Twitter and #UsGuys that more and more people will have a Spectacular Day like the one I was gifted with!We love you right back,Lib and Mike

Leave a Reply

